Share this page
 

Cover your tracks online

Every time you use the internet, your internet browser automatically saves pieces of information known as 'cookies' in its history or cache, such as the search words you type into search engines, website pages you visit, or passwords and login names you use.


The safest option

If you are concerned that someone is monitoring your internet usage, your safest option is to access the internet from another place, such as a friend's house, your place of work, an internet cafe or local library.


Other options

There are other steps you can take to cover your tracks and increase your safety online.


Some browsers offer a version of ‘private browsing’ which allows you to view web pages without any information being permanently stored on your computer or device.


It’s also possible to preset your own privacy settings or manually clear your browsing history.


Each browser is different so first you need to find out which browser version you are using then select the relevant link in the list at the bottom of the page for further instructions.


It’s important to note that manually clearing your browsing history may raise suspicion, although it is common practice when  trying to improve your computer's performance.


Find out which browser you’re using

  • Select Help from the browser toolbar. Or in Google Chrome, select the Wrench icon. Or if in IE9, select the 'gear' icon in the upper right-hand corner of the browser window.
     
  • A drop-down menu will appear and near the bottom will read, 'About Internet Explorer' or 'About Mozilla Firefox', etc.
     
  • Select this and a new window will appear with details of the browser version.


Select your browser for instructions

If you know what browser you are using, select your browser from the list below for the relevant instructions.


When making any changes to your browser settings, be sure to close and restart your browser to ensure the changes take affect.